Around Oxford Around Oxford Law image

Patrons and Supporters

The Law Faculty would like to take this opportunity to thank all its benefactors.

Donations to the Faculty of Law are received in accordance with the University’s Donor Charter.

The naming of academic posts in honour of benefactors is in recognition of our gratitude for major support of the study of Law in Oxford, and reflects the contribution of a donor to particular areas of study in the Faculty of Law.

Persons holding posts named for a benefactor are appointed by the Faculty in the normal rigorous way through open competition, by University selection panels which do not include representatives of the donor.  All holders of named posts are employees of the University, with all the rights to permanent employment and all the responsibilities of employees of the University, including academic freedom and independence in writing and researching.  Holding a post named in honour of a benefactor does not make the post holder an employee of the benefactor, nor does it permit the benefactor to influence the research of the post holder in any way.

Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors

Allen & Overy LLP

Barclays Bank PLC

Frau Anneliese Brost

Clifford Chance LLP

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

Sir Joseph Hotung Charitable Settlement

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Travers Smith LLP

Vice Chancellor’s Circle

John Adams

Baker & McKenzie LLP

CMS Cameron McKenna LLP

Paul Dodyk

The European Justice Forum

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP

Herbert Smith Freehills LLP

Hogan Lovells LLP

The A.G. Leventis Foundation and the H.K. Leventis Family

Sir David Lewis DL, Alderman

Linklaters LLP

Allan Myers AO QC

Pinsent Masons LLP

Shell International B.V.

Shearman & Sterling LLP

Slaughter and May

Swiss Reinsurance Company Ltd

Daniel Slifkin

White & Case LLP

Senior Foundation Benefactors

Sir Frank Berman KCMG QC

The Brunsfield Foundation in Malaysia

Lady Edwina Grosvenor

Open Society Institute Youth Initiative


Foundation Benefactors

3 Verulam Buildings

4 New Square

The Bertha Foundation

John Collis

Foundation for Excellence in Higher Education

The Foundation for International Law

Fountain Court Chambers

Mayer Brown LLP

The Morris Trust

The Planethood Foundation

Pump Court Tax Chambers

Ragnar Söderbergs Stiftelse

Torsten Söderbergs Stiftelse

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP


7 King's Bench Walk

8 New Square

Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A. Shroff & Co

Boult Wade Tennant

Des Voeux Chambers

Gide Loyrette Nouel LLP

Professor Sir Roy Goode CBE QC


Stephen Leonard

Maitland Chambers

Genevieve Muinzer and Nick Segal

Oxford University Press

The David and Jayne Paterson Educational Trust

Powell Gilbert

Professor Stephen A. Scott

The Sigrid Rausing Trust

South Square

Temple Chambers

Volterra Fietta


Page updated on 24 July 2015 at 18:12 :: Send us feedback on this page :: photo credits

Policies on: cookies :: freedom of information :: data protection