Blackstone Chambers Postgraduate Mooting Championship

In 2020-21 the University of Oxford launched the inaugural Blackstone Chambers Postgraduate Mooting Championship.

The Postgraduate Championship is the biggest postgraduate mooting competition in Oxford, where up to 32 teams of two students, each representing their Colleges (or Permanent Private Halls), compete. The 8 top ranked teams in the preliminary rounds (which consist of two rounds held in late Michaelmas Term and early Hilary Team) will advance to the elimination rounds of the competition in Hilary Term, comprising Quarter-finals, Semi-finals, and a Grand Final. 
All postgraduate law students of the University are eligible to compete in the Postgraduate Championship. Each college may enter one team of two mooters to compete in the competition, though the team need not comprise the same two mooters in each round, except as between the Semi-Finals and Grand Finals. 
The winning team receive £400, and their names are engraved in the Competition shield. The runner-up team receive £200.
This competition is kindly made possible by a generous donation from Blackstone Chambers.

For further details, contact the Mooting Programme at

  • This competition is open to postgraduate law students.