Dates for the 16th Annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Law Moot competition are 15, 16 and 17 March 2018. Further details will be announced here. if you wish to be added to our Moot mail list, please email the IP Moot Secretary 


Previous Oxford Intellectual Property Moot:

The Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre (OIPRC) is delighted to announce arrangements for the 2017 Oxford International Intellectual Property Law Moot, and invites universities from around the world to enter the competition.

The problem for the 2017 Moot concerns the case Whispering Gums Winery v Loddon River Vineyards [2016] HCE 12. This case revolves around: (1) a patent in relation to a bottle that enhances the effervescence of sparkling wines; and (2) whether the defendant's use of the word “Erewine” on an elderflower, non-alcoholic, drink constitutes extended passing off. Further details of the problem are available on the Instructions and Problem link.

Participation in the oral rounds is by invitation only, on the basis of two written submissions prepared by teams wishing to compete. These submissions (of 3,000 words each) must be submitted by 3:00 pm on Monday 12 December 2016. Invitations will be issued in mid-January 2017.

The registration fee includes Moot participation and social events such as the Friday night IP Conversazione and dinner, and Saturday night formal dinner. Only those teams who are invited to the oral proceedings will be required to pay the registration fee, which will be due in early February 2017. Teams will be responsible for their own accommodation costs and for travel to and from the Moot – although we will be able to arrange excellent rates for teams to stay at our host college, Pembroke College. Teams may bring a coach and/or observer (for an additional fee). Details about the fees are available in the Moot Rules.

The oral proceedings will comprise of four preliminary rounds, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and a Grand Final. Teams may comprise two or three students, with any two team members speaking in any given moot. The Grand Final is always held before senior members of the judiciary; in 2017, the bench will be Lord Justice Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd and Mr Justice Birss.  Teams will be competing for the Allen & Overy Prize Winner.

If you would like further information about the Moot, or to be added to our mailing list, please contact the Moot Secretary: []. We will tweet Moot news and reminders on our Twitter account, @OxIPMoot. 

The Rules

Instruction and problem

Corrections & clarifications

2017 Moot Results

Finalists for the 15th Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot 2017:

Boston University School of Law, USA
Bucerius Law School, Germany
City University of London, UK
DePaul University College of Law, USA
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Jindal Global Law School, India
Monash University, Australia
National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU), India
National University of Singapore, Singapore
Osgoode Hall Law School, Canada
Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Singapore Management University, Singapore
Tsinghua University, China
University College London, UK
University of British Columbia, Canada
University of Cambridge, UK
University of Malaya, Malaysia
University of New South Wales, Australia
University of Otago, New Zealand
University of Oxford, UK
University of Technology Sydney, Australia
University of Toronto, Canada
University of Windsor, Canada
West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, India