Thursday 15th – Saturday 17th March 2018

The problem for the 2018 Moot relates to copyright and performers’ rights, with the fact pattern involving a fireworks display and a dance and spoken word presentation by three cockatoos. The case before the Supreme Court of Erewhon has been narrowed to four questions in relation to the meaning of “dramatic work”, the test for authorship, assessment of non-literal infringement, and whether an animal-only presentation can constitute a performance.

Participation in the oral rounds is by invitation only, on the basis of two written submissions prepared by teams wishing to compete. These submissions (of 3,000 words each) must be submitted by 3:00 pm on Monday 11 December 2017. Invitations will be issued in mid-January 2018. The registration process will not open until after invitations have been issued to compete at the oral rounds. Only those teams who are invited to the oral rounds will need to register and pay the registration fee, which will be due in early February 2018.

Teams must identify themselves only by use of the anonymous identifier given to them in advance by the Moot Secretary. To apply for this identifier, teams should email the Moot Secretary at [] well before the submission deadline.

The registration fee includes Moot participation and social events such as the Friday night IP Conversazione and dinner, and Saturday night formal dinner. Teams will be responsible for their own accommodation costs and for travel to and from the Moot – although we will be able to arrange excellent rates for teams to stay at our host college, Pembroke College. Teams may bring a coach and/or observer (for an additional fee). Details about the fees are available in the Moot Rules.

The oral proceedings will comprise at least four preliminary rounds, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and a Grand Final. Teams may comprise two or three students, with any two team members speaking in any given moot. The Grand Final is always held before senior members of the judiciary; in previous years, the bench has included Lord Justice Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd, Mr Justice Birss and Her Honour Judge Melissa Clarke.

To keep apprised of announcements and news in relation to the moot (#OxIPMoot), please follow us on Twitter: @OxIPMoot or the Moot website. If you would like further information about the Moot, or to be added to our mailing list, please contact the Moot Secretary: [].

The Rules

Instructions & Problem

Corrections & Clarifications

2018 Results