Oxford IP Moot 2022 - Results

Results of the 19th Annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Law Moot

The OIPRC and the Moot Organising Committee are delighted to announce the results of the 19th Annual Moot, held in Oxford from Thursday 17 to Saturday 19 March 2022.

The Allen & Overy Winner, Oral Proceedings: University of Technology Sydney

IP Moot 2022 - runners upThe Allen & Overy Runner-Up, Oral Proceedings: King’s College London

Semi-finalists, Oral Proceedings: Singapore Management University & University of Toronto

Quarter finalists, Oral Proceedings: The Honourable Society of Gray’s Inn, University of Ottawa, Bucerius Law School & NALSAR University of Law

8 New Square Winner, Best Written Submissions: University of Toronto

Powell Gilbert placegetters, Best Written Submissions:
2nd place: University of Technology Sydney
3rd place: University of Hong Kong

Joint Winners, Best Individual Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds (Sir Nicholas Pumfrey Award): Hannah Cinel (University of Toronto) & Juhi Agrawal (Singapore Management University)

Best individual mooters

Herbert Smith Freehills placegetters, Best Individual Mooter:
2nd place: Thomas Hood (Gray’s Inn)
Joint 3rd place: Cason Yong (King’s College London) & Reinvs Loh (Singapore Management University)
4th place: Madeleine Sherbon (University of Technology Sydney)
Joint 5th place: Andre Murrell (University of Technology Sydney) & Flint Patterson (University of Toronto)

Highest Ranked Team After the Preliminary Rounds: Singapore Management University


Best Newcomers Award: The Honourable Society of Gray’s Inn

Professor David Vaver Spirit of the Moot Award: Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main


Oral Proceedings

The following universities were invited to the Oral Proceedings:

Australian National University College of Law
Bucerius Law School
CEIPI, University of Strasbourg
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
Goethe-University Frankfurt
Gray’s Inn
Inns of Court College of Advocacy
IU Maurer School of Law
Jindal Global Law School, O.P. Jindal Global University
King’s College London
LSE Law School
NALSAR University of Law
National Law School of India University OxIPR
National University of Singapore (NUS)
Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Reichman University (IDC Herzliya)
Rutgers Law School
Singapore Management University
Symbiosis Law School
The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
UCL Faculty of Laws
Universitas Indonesia
University of Birmingham
University of Greenwich
University of Hong Kong
University of New South Wales
University of Ottawa
University of Technology Sydney
University of Toronto
West Bengal National university of Juridical Sciences

The Problem

This year’s problem relates to the case Floyd’s Kitchins & Erewhonian Burrellshire Brandy Association v Greenland Supermarket [2021] HCE 107. It covers copyright law, passing off and geographical indicators of origin.

The Rules 2022 (released 23 November 2021)
Instructions & Problem 2022 (updated 21 November 2021)
Corrections and Clarifications (released 22 November 2021)

On this page