The Maitland Chambers University of Oxford Undergraduate Inter-collegiate (Cuppers) Mooting Competition is organised by the Law Faculty, and proudly supported by Maitland Chambers. Up to thirty-two teams may represent their colleges in Rounds I and II of the five-round contest. The eight top-ranked teams in the preliminary rounds advance to the elimination rounds of the competition, comprising quarter finals, semi finals and a Grand Final. The names and college of the winning team are inscribed on the perpetual trophy. In addition, the members of the winning team are invited to undertake mini-pupillages at Maitland Chambers.

To maximise participation, colleges are permitted to substitute mooters during the competition, save only that the same mooters must appear in the semi final and Grand Final. The cuppers competition runs in Michaelmas and Hilary Terms, so as to accommodate Finalists' involvement.

For further details, contact the Mooting Programme at

  • This competition is open to undergraduate law students.