BPP National Speed Mooting Competition

The National Speed Mooting Competition was founded in 2012/2013. There have now been 8 annual competitions.

The moot consists of two separate competitions. The first competition is open to law undergraduates, and the second is open to postgraduate students.

The moot problem is based on a simple point of law. Submissions are limited to 7 minutes per mooter, and the bundle is sent to participants the day before the competition to replicate the common occurrence in practice when a barrister or solicitor receives a brief the day before trial. The competition is judged by practising barristers and solicitors.

The size for each competition is 80 mooters. The competition will take place over the course of a single day. This will work out as 6 knockout rounds plus some preliminary moots.

Mooters enter as individuals rather than teams, There is no limit on the number of students that can enter from a given institution.

Oxford's participation in this competition is kindly made possible by a generous donation from Blackstone Chambers.

For further details, contact the Mooting Programme at mooting@law.ox.ac.uk

  • This competition is open to undergraduate and postgraduate law students.

Blackstone Chambers logo