The Feminist Jurisprudence Discussion Group analyses law and jurisprudence from a distinctly feminist standpoint that seeks to challenge underlying gendered assumptions behind both disciplines and their claims to neutrality. As a specialist group that centralises feminist analysis and methodology, we challenge the renegading of feminist jurisprudence to the status of an additional, or further consideration, in legal academia and practice. 

The group seeks to bring together intersectional feminist scholars, activists, and champions of equality to generate collaborative projects, to organise scholarly talks, and to host social gatherings for discussing books, films, and current affairs. The group is open to anyone (including undergraduates) with an interest in feminism, where all participants and the insights and experiences that they bring are respected. To this end, the group selects work which highlights feminism’s intersections with race, class, disability, gender identity, and sexual orientation, in order to reflect diverse experiences and perspectives.

Discussions and Meetings

Ordinarily, the group regularly meets at St. Hilda's College and the Law Faculty. 

We also host evening reading groups during term time at Balliol's Jowett Walk. For detailed event information, please consult our events listing below. All events are open to the public.

We welcome offers to lead a discussion or to present papers or other works-in-progress to the group. Please contact one of the convenors if you are interested in talking to the group or if you have an idea for an informal discussion.

Contact Us 

If you would like to join the group’s mailing list, please send a blank email to: feminist-juris-subscribe@maillist.ox.ac.uk. Alternatively, please feel free to reach out to our mailing box at: feminist-juris@law.ox.ac.uk.

We have had some issues with our mailing list, so if you think you have subscribed to the mailing list but are not receiving the emails, please write to us at: feminist-juris@law.ox.ac.uk.



Rosario Grimà Algora

Ana Diaz Azcunaga

Mihika Poddar

Anjali Rawat