Please click on the documents under 'Related Resources' to view the Standing Orders of the Board of the Faculty of Law, and the current membership of the Board and its committees.

The Governance Structure of the Faculty of Law

The head of the Faculty is the Dean, Professor Anne Davies.  She is the Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Law and provides academic and strategic leadership to the Faculty of Law.  She represents the Faculty at a divisional, university, national and international level on matters of importance and relevance to the teaching and research of Law, and builds relationships with other institutions, including Law firms and other key donors.

The Law Board is an elected body of people who take key decisions on behalf of the Faculty, in response to recommendations from the Faculty committees or in response to directives and requests from the University.  Any member of the Faculty is eligible to be nominated for membership of the Board, and nominations go through the Elections Office in the University.  The Dean can also co-opt up to four further members each year.  If more than one nomination were received for a place on the Board, the University would organise a full election for that place, though this is unusual.  In practice, nominations are not contested, and are normally signed by four members of the Personnel Committee.

The Law Board also appoints the members to its various standing committees, which are given responsibility for matters ranging from Planning and Resources to Personnel, Graduate Studies to Undergraduate Studies, Examining to Equality and Diversity.  Most committees are chaired by one of our Associate Deans (see below).  The committees are required to report to the Law Board in writing, and the Board meets twice a term to consider issues brought to it from those committees.

The New Vice Dean and Associate Deans

2015-16 has been the first year of a new administrative structure in the Faculty, with the introduction of a Vice Dean and five new Associate Deans.  The change was a response to a review of the Deanship role, in preparation for advertising the Deanship after Timothy Endicott’s period of office came to an end.  Wide consultation with faculty members and staff led to a decision that the existing roles of certain Faculty officers would be expanded such that each position would acquire a greater strategic component to provide additional support to the Dean.  The new structure is as follows:

  • Vice Dean (previously Vice Chair of Law Board) - responsible for academic and research staff, including recruitment, progression and personnel issues; leave, buyouts, and subject requirements.  Chairs the Personnel Committee and Equality and Diversity Committee.
  • Associate Dean for Development and Communications – with the Dean, leads the Faculty in establishing fundraising priorities, provides academic input into the Faculty’s fundraising strategy and the stewardship of donors; academic and strategic oversight of communications (including key publications, such as Law News, our termly eBulletins, and the website)
  • Associate Dean for Research – chairs the Research Committee, develops a research strategy for the Faculty for both staff and research students; manages the Research Excellence Framework submission; advises and promotes the work of the research centres and other research activity; facilitates research groupings and seeks to build institutional frameworks.
  • Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Access - chairs the Undergraduate Studies Committee, and through that ensures that satisfactory arrangements are in place for the admission, teaching and assessment of undergraduate students; undertakes undergraduate academic planning and relevant engagement with professional bodies; provides strategic direction for the Faculty’s undergraduate courses; strategic leadership for the expanding outreach, access and widening participation activities of the Faculty.
  • Associate Deans for Graduate Students – Taught and Research – alternatively chair the Graduate Studies Committee and provide strategic direction for the Faculty’s graduate courses and graduate academic planning; ensure that satisfactory arrangements are in place for the admission, teaching, supervision and assessment of postgraduate students; the award of scholarships and bursaries.

A list of all the Faculty Officers is available here.

At the same time that this work has been going on, thought has been given to how these posts might be better integrated into the Faculty’s current administrative arrangements.  The administrative support team has also been organised to demonstrate that it is fully aligned behind the purpose and function of the Associate Deans.  The new website has played a part in this, helping to communicate the new underlying structure and make the purpose of the Faculty administration more accessible and transparent to the Faculty.

Charlotte Vinnicombe, Head of Administration and Finance