Welcome to the Oxford University Undergraduate Law Journal (OUULJ), Oxford's only publication for undergraduate legal writing, edited and staffed entirely by students. Journal submissions for the 13th Edition of the OUULJ (2023-24) are now closed. Thank you to all those who submitted!

The 13th Edition Publication Evening will be held on Monday, June 10, 2:30 - 4:30 pm at the Gulbenkian Lecture Theatre! Click here to RSVP and find out more details. 

Oxford students (undergraduate and postgraduate) wishing to contribute can still submit an article for our blog. Submission details can be found here.

You can find the 12th Edition of the Journal here.

Founded in 2009, the OUULJ is the UK's first, oldest and most distinguished solely undergraduate law journal. Under the auspices of the Faculty of Law, the OUULJ offers a unique opportunity for law undergraduates to publish their academic legal writing in a recognised law journal and provides a platform for discourse on legal developments.

Our Honorary Board has grown over the past decade. It is the OUULJ’s honour to have a number of Supreme Court Justices, King’s Counsel, and leading academics across all fields of the law in endorsement of the journal. We are also generously sponsored by industry leading Firms and Chambers from across the United Kingdom. 

We mainly accept submissions that come within the Oxford undergraduate law syllabus. Full details of our submission guidelines can be found here

On top of our annual publications, we strive to promote a culture of academic legal writing in Oxford. We have relationships with various other law journals and reviews around the UK, and we are always keen to build new and stronger links. 2023 saw the publication of the 12th Edition of the Journal. The judges for the prizes given to the best articles in the 12th Edition were Lord Hoffmann and Lord Neuberger. 

For a comprehensive overview of the Journal and its activities, you can refer to our 2023-24 Welcome Guide.

We do hope you find what you are looking for on this website. If you do not, please do not hesitate to contact us. Please note, this is not a branch of the Law Faculty admissions service.

The Editorial Board

Ethan J. Teo - Editor-in-Chief

Saloni Sanwalka - Editor

Nicole Tay, Shivanii Arun, and Syed Taha Anzar - Vice Editors in-Chief

Katherine Li, Kenneth Hoh, and Wong Yi Xuan - Vice Editors

Rita Cherchian - Administrative Director

Josephine Kairupan - Publicity Officer 

Ingrid Charbonneau, Ruby Rowlands, Brittany Wong, Isabella Preschern, Evangelia Tsintza, Anders Pang, Ella So, Maha Waqar - Associate Editors

Cauã Calderaro, Maha Waqar, Oh Ming Song, Josephine Kairupan, Nara-May Rishani - Blog Editors

Juliet van Gyseghem and Rach Tan - Podcast Editors