The purpose of the Law Foundation is to promote and develop the study of the theory and practice of law in all its branches, whether at the University or elsewhere, by staff of the University, by those holding visiting appointments at the University, or by students pursuing courses of study approved by the University.

The Trustees meet annually in Oxford at around the start of the academic year, to consider proposals for funding, and monitor the financial position of, the fund.  The Trustees will support items of expenditure that are both exceptional and will add value to the whole of Law in Oxford. 

An Annual Report of the activities of the Law Foundation is produced once the minutes of the meeting from the previous year have been approved by the Trustees at the next meeting.  Links to the reports are listed below. 

Proposals to the Law Foundation must be made on the recommendation of the Law Board, having first been considered by the Faculty’s Planning and Resources Committee.

The Trustees for 2019-20 are:

David P. Ryan (Chair)

Susan Bright (appointed by the Board of the Faculty of Law)

Andrew Mackie (representing the Vice-Chancellor)

Anne Davies, ex officio as Dean of the Faculty of Law and Associate Dean for Development 2019-20

Tina Cook, QC

Rachel Brandenburger

Secretary to the Board of Trustees is the Development Assistant in the Law Faculty, e-mail

Annual reports