StaffResearch FellowsVisiting Research FellowsManagement CommitteeAdvisory Council

Institute staff

Professor Birke Häcker, Director of the Institute
Professor Ariel Ezrachi, Deputy Director of the Institute
Professor Jeremias Prassl, Deputy Director of the Institute
Professor Stephen Weatherill, Deputy Director of the Institute
Professor Ulf Bernitz, Co-ordinator of the Oxford-Stockholm Collaboration
Dr Konrad Duden, Max Planck Gildesgame Fellow, 2018
Professor Bertrand Fages, Paris Visiting Fellow, 2019
Dr Geneviève Helleringer, IECL Lecturer in French Law and Business Law
Andreas Humm, Max Planck Gildesgame Fellow, 2019
Dr Mark Klamberg, Stockholm Centre Oxford Fellow, 2018-2019
Dr Javier Garcia Oliva, Spanish Law Tutor
Nello Pasquini, Linklaters Teaching Fellow for Italian Law
Dr Jan Zglinski, Erich Brost Lecturer in German Law and European Union Law

Jenny Dix, Administrator


Research Fellows

Dr Fabiana Bettini (Hulme Postdoctoral Fellow in Land Law)
Professor Sanja Bogojevic (Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall)
Professor John Cartwright (Emeritus Fellow of Christ Church)
Professor Mindy Chen-Wishart (Fellow of Merton College)
Professor Matt Dyson (Fellow of Corpus Christi College)
Professor Stefan Enchelmaier (Fellow of Lincoln College)
Professor Luca Enriques (Fellow of Jesus College)
Professor Wolfgang Ernst (Regius Professor of Civil Law, All Souls College)
Professor Mark Freedland (Emeritus Fellow of St John’s College)
Professor Ciara Kennefick (Fellow of Christ Church)
Professor Dorota Leczykiewicz (Fellow of St Peter's College)
Professor Justine Pila (Fellow of St Catherine’s College)
Professor Simon Whittaker (Fellow of St John’s College)

Visiting Research Fellows

Rachel Brandenburger (Hogan Lovells)
Professor Alexandra Braun (University of Edinburgh)
Professor Hugh Beale (University of Warwick and Visiting Professor at the Oxford Law Faculty)
Professor Anthony Bradley QC (Hon) (Emeritus Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Edinburgh)
Professor Gerhard Dannemann (Centre for British Studies, Humboldt University, Berlin)
Professor Eric Descheemaeker (University of Melbourne)
Professor Bénédicte Fauvarque-Cosson (University Panthéon-Assas)
Dr Andreas von Goldbeck (University of Stockholm and Essec Business School)
Professor Martijn Hesselink (University of Amsterdam)
Professor Rodrigo Momberg Uribe (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso)
Conor Quigley QC (Serle Court Chambers)
Professor Wolf-Georg Ringe (University of Hamburg and Visiting Professor at the Oxford Law Faculty )
Professor Katja Ziegler (Sir Robert Jennings Professor of International Law, University of Leicester)

Committee of Management

The activities of the Institute are overseen by a Management Committee, a committee of the Board of the Faculty of Law, which meets once a term. The Committee currently comprises:
Professor Birke Häcker (ex officio, Director of the Institute and Professor of Comparative Law)
Professor Ian Loader (ex officio, Associate Dean for Research, Law Faculty)
Dr Hartmut Mayer (Social Sciences Division)
Professor Jeremias Prassl (ex officio, Academic Director of Undergraduate Exchange Programmes)
Professor Stephen Weatherill (ex officio, Jacques Delors Professor of European Law)

Advisory Council

The external Advisory Council consists of a group of prominent persons in public life and the legal world who give advise upon the strategic direction of the Institute, and support its work generally. The Council currently comprises:
Professor Guido Alpa (Sapienza University of Rome)
Professor Sir Frank Berman QC (Essex Court Chambers)
Mr Christopher Bright (Shearman & Sterling LLP)
The Conseiller Culturel of the French Embassy in London
Professor Paul Craig (Oxford Law Faculty)
The Honourable Mr Justice Cranston
Professor Sir David Edward (University of Edinburgh)
Professor Mark Freedland (Oxford Law Faculty)
Professor Sir Roy Goode (Oxford Law Faculty)
Professor Birke Häcker (Director of the Institute)
Professor Sir Francis Jacobs (King's College London)
Professor Angus Johnston (Oxford Law Faculty)
Dr Georg Krawietz (German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) London)
Mr Alexander Layton QC (20 Essex Street)
The Right Honourable Lord Mance (Chair)
Ms Alexandra Marks (Judicial Appointments Committee)
Mr Hugh Mercer QC (Essex Court)
Mr Rupert Reece (Gide Loyrette Nouel LLP)
The Right Honourable Lord Reed
Sir Peter Roth (Competition Appeal Tribunal)
The Honourable Mr Justice Silber
Professor Henk Snijders (University of Leiden)
The Vice Chancellor of Oxford University