Academic Members

Professor Robert Burrell

Robert holds the Professorship of Intellectual Property and Information Technology Law teaching and researching across all areas of intellectual property law. He is the author, with Allison Coleman, of Copyright Exceptions: The Digital Impact (Cambridge University Press, 2005) and, with Michael Handler, of Australian Trade Mark Law (Oxford University Press, 2010; 2nd ed. 2016). His most recent work includes an investigation of the role of rewards as an alternative to the patent system in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and an interdisciplinary project with a team of psychologists that tests trade mark law’s assumptions about consumers.

Professor Dev Gangjee (Centre Director, 2021-22)

Dev Gangjee is Professor of Intellectual Property Law within the Law Faculty and a Tutorial Fellow at St Hilda's College. Dev's research focuses on Intellectual Property (IP), with a special emphasis on Branding and Trade Marks, Geographical Indications and Copyright law. Thematic research interests include the history and political economy of IP, collective and open innovation, and the significance of registration for intangibles. He has acted in an advisory capacity for national governments, law firms, international organisations and the European Commission on IP issues.

Professor Graeme Dinwoodie

Graeme Dinwoodie is the Global Professor of Intellectual Property Law at Chicago-Kent College of Law and Visiting Professor at the Faculty of Law.  From 2009-2018, he was the Professor of Intellectual Property and Information Technology Law at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre, and a Professorial Fellow of St Peter's College.  

Dr Van Anh Le

Dr Van Anh Le is a Departmental Lecturer in Intellectual Property (IP) Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Oxford. Prior to joining Oxford, she taught IP law at Warwick and Durham. Van Anh’s areas of expertise include pharmaceutical patents, TRIPS flexibilities, compulsory licensing, and access to medicines. She is highly interested in public policy on IP in developing countries.

Javier Lezaun

Javier Lezaun is James Martin Lecturer in Science and Technology Governance and Deputy Director of the Institute for Science, Innovation and Society (InSIS). He currently directs BioProperty, an ERC-funded research project on property rights in the life sciencest. 

Professor Viktor Mayer-Shönberger

Viktor Mayer-Shönberger is the Professor of Internet Governance and Regulation at the Oxford Internet Institute. He is also a Fellow at Keble College.

Professor Ansgar Ohly

Ansgar Ohly is a Visiting Professor at the Faculty of Law.  He holds a Chair in civil law, intellectual property and competition law at the University of Munich.  Ansgar’s main fields of academic interest are all areas of intellectual property law, the law of unfair competition and the rights of personality and privacy. He is especially interested in European developments and in the comparison of civil law and common law systems.

Dr Robert Pitkethly

 Robert Pitkethly is an Emeritus Fellow at St. Peter's College, and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Patent Attorneys. His research interests have bridged the fields of strategic management and intellectual property and include the history and managerial aspects of intellectual property policy.

Past OIPRC Directors

Professor Dev Gangjee, 2018-2019 and 2021-present

Professor Robert Burrell, 2019-2021

Professor Graeme Dinwoodie, 2009 - 2018

Dr. Justine Pila, Interim Director 2007-2009

Professor Christine Greenhalgh, Economics Research Director 2007-2009

Professor David Vaver, Director 1998 - 2007

Professor Peter Hayward, Founding Director

On this page