Border Criminologies Masters' Dissertation/Thesis Prize 2023

Border Criminologies seeks to support early career researchers working on citizenship, migration and the intersections between border controls and criminal justice. As part of this goal, we have established a Border Criminologies Masters’ Dissertation/Thesis Prize with support from Routledge.

There will be two recipients of the Border Criminologies Prize each year. The winner and the runner up will receive £200 and £100 worth of Routledge books. The authors will be expected to contribute to the Border Criminologies blog with a post on their research.

The prize will be judged by a panel made up of members of the Border Criminologies’ core team and the Advisory Group. The Panel will assess the dissertation in terms of its quality and originality, and its contribution to the body of knowledge about border control.

See previous winners hereherehere, here and here.

How to submit a dissertation

Entries must be submitted via email to with an accompanying 300 word abstract outlining the study’s main findings and contribution to the field. Please use this to tell us why you think your paper should be published. All entries must be written in English and accompanied by a letter from one university authority confirming your attendance on the course (e.g. from head of course/department). Candidates are expected to have submitted the dissertation/thesis within the calendar year of 2023. We are keen on receiving contributions from around the world including students based in the global south so let us know if you have any queries. We will accept a limited number of dissertations in other languages, based on our capacity, but dο get in touch with us first to discuss this.

The deadline for entries is April 21st, 2024. 

For further queries about the Border Criminologies Masters' Dissertation/Thesis Prize, please contact Prof. Mary Bosworth at


January 2024 Call opens

April 2024 Call closes

May 2024 Panel deliberates

June 2024 winners informed

Note: The Panel reserves the right not to make an award if standards are not deemed sufficient.