Finalists of the Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot 2023 Announced

Congratulations to the 28 teams who will be participating in the Oral Proceedings of the 20th Annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot from 15th to 18th March 2023: 

  • Australian National University
  • City, University of London
  • Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University
  • Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
  • Goethe-University Frankfurt
  • Gujarat National Law University
  • ILS Law College, Pune
  • Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad
  • Jindal Global Law School, O.P Jindal Global University
  • King’s College London
  • London School of Economics
  • Monash University
  • NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad
  • National University of Singapore
  • Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
  • Queensland University of Technology 
  • Singapore Management University
  • Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
  • The Inns of Court College of Advocacy (ICCA)
  • Tsinghua University, Beijing
  • University College London
  • University of Bern
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Hong Kong
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Technology Sydney

The winning team will receive the Allen & Overy Prize. 

The 2023 moot concerns Bouvier v Erewhonian Airlines [2022] HCE 213. The moot problem focusses on film copyright, with sub-issues relating to copyright and moral rights. A copy of the problem is available on the Moot Website, along with relevant statutory provisions and a list of the cases referred to by Justice Chen-Wishart.

Teams will be arguing in front of the Supreme Court of Erewhon, the apex court of a fictional common law jurisdiction of Erewhon. All teams will be required to participate in four preliminary rounds over two days, where they will make submissions as both the appellant and the respondent. Eight teams will progress to the knock-out rounds. The panel for the Grand Final will comprise Lord Kitchin of the United Kingdom Supreme Court, Lord Justice Arnold of the Court of Appeal of England and Wales, and Professor Robert Burrell, Professor of Intellectual Property and Information Technology Law, University of Oxford.  


We would like to thank Rowan Freeland (former partner at Simmons & Simmons) for leading the marking team and his team of markers for marking the submissions:

  • Andy Lee (Brandsmiths)
  • Mario Bouchard                             
  • Jon Ball (Norton Rose)
  • Ian Starr (D Young & Co)
  • Jim Cormack (Pinsent Masons)
  • Paul Abbott (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer)
  • Lauren Crais (University of Oxford)
  • Tom Edwards (Allen & Overy)
  • Li Liu (University of Oxford)
  • Rebecca Halford-Harrison (Keystone Law)
  • Gordon Harris (Gowling WLG (UK) LLP)
  • Diana Sternfeld                                
  • Joel Smith (Hogan Lovells)
  • Andrea F. Rush (Blaney McMurty LLP)
  • Caoimhe Ring (University of Oxford)
  • Eleanor Wilson (Mishcon De Reya)
  • Sarah Mathew (University of Oxford)

And also a special thanks to Catriona Smith (Wiggin) for supporting the marking process.

Thank you to all teams who participated in the written phase of the moot this year. For more information on the competition, please refer to this website.