The Shearman & Sterling LLP Oxford University Law Faculty Mooting Competition 2005 was won by Zahra Hayat (Lincoln) and Imran Afzal (Merton).

The 2005 competition took place on Saturday 26th Feberuary 2005 in St Catherine`s College. During the morning the moot problem was argued twelve times with each team arguing it twice, once as appellants and once as respondents. All the morning moots were judged by partners and senior associates from Shearman & Sterling LLP and in several of the matches the result turned on a half mark one way rather than the other. After lunch for all the competitors and judges in St Catherine`s, the semi-finals were contested between Zahra Hayat (Lincoln) and Imran Afzal (Merton), Joanna McGinley (Balliol) and Martin Kelly (Balliol), Ryan Kohli (St Edmund Hall) and Sion Owen (Lincoln), and Alasdair Henderson (Lincoln) and Benjamin Bradley (Lincoln), with a coin-toss deciding which parties the teams represented. In the Grand Final, presided over by The Hon. Mr Justice Toulson, Chairman of the Law Commission, Zahra Hayat (Lincoln) and Imran Afzal (Merton) narrowly defeated Ryan Kohli (St Edmund Hall) and Sion Owen (Lincoln). Toulson J commended both the teams on the quality of their performances and delivered a detailed assessment of the contentious legal issues underlying the moot problem. By the end of the competition the problem had been argued fifteen times, with the judges deciding that on nine occasions that the team representing the respondents was best, and on six occasions (including the Grand Final) the team representing the appellants.

The prizes were presented to the winners, runners-up and group winners by Kenneth MacRitchie, Managing Partner of Shearman & Sterling LLP`s London office. The winning team gained 500 pounds, the offer of vacation placements with Shearman & Sterling LLP, and the right to represent Oxford University in the ESU National Mooting Competition in 2005-6.