The 2010-2011 Maitland Chambers and University of Oxford Inter-Collegiate (Cuppers) Mooting Competition Grand Final was held on Friday 18 February in the Daubeny Theatre at Magdalen College. The moot was presided over by The Honourable Mr Justice Sales of the Chancery Division of the High Court, and members of Maitland Chambers as well as a large audience of students were also in attendance.

The two grand final teams were St John's College (Imran Tehal & Andrew Foo) and St Hugh's College (Victor Greenstreet & Senthilkumaran Sabapathy).

Advocates presented submissions on a case about the award of gains-based damages for breach of contract, an issue Justice Sales was well familiar with following his Lordship's decision in Vercoe v Rutland - a case both sides sought to rely on to their advantage. In the end it was the team from St John's College that was declared victor and Cuppers Mooting Champion for 2010-2011.

photograph of winning mooters

Winning mooters from St John's College (Imran Tehal & Andrew Foo)


The Grand Final represented the culmination of nearly three terms of mooting for undergraduates. Beginning with the compulsory LRMSP mooting program for first years in TT 2010 and then the Cuppers Competition for all undergraduates in MT 2010 and HT 2011. The moots could not have succeeded without the generous support of Maitland Chambers, members of the law faculty, and the many postgraduate law students who regularly volunteered to judge. Above all the competition relied on the enthusiasm and organisational skills of the student competitors, who have displayed very high standards of student advocacy through the entire mooting program.



Arghya Sengupta & Eli Ball,

Graduate Mooting Co-ordinators