Professor Jane Stapleton has been awarded the prestigious William L. Prosser Award by the Association of American Law Schools. The award was created in 1974 to honour outstanding contributions to the world of tort law scholarship. Previous recipients of the Award include Leon Green, Wex Malone, Oscar Gray, Robert Rabin, and the Hon. Richard A. Posner.

Professor Stapleton is a Visiting Professor at Oxford University and an Emeritus Fellow of Balliol College. She is a past holder of the prestigious Arthur Goodhart Visiting Professor of Legal Science Chair at Cambridge University and an Honorary Bencher at Gray's Inn. Professor Stapleton is a Research Professor of Law at the Australian National University College of Law in Canberra, and the Ernest E. Smith Professor in Law at the School of Law University of Texas at Austin.

The Award recognizes the influence of Professor Stapleton's scholarship and teaching in the areas of tort and product liability and her wide-ranging professional accomplishments, and will be presented to Professor Stapleton at the Torts Section of the 2013 American Association of Law Schools Annual Meeting in New Orleans on Sunday 6th January 2013.