A four-member team from the University of Oxford won the UK National Championship of the 54th Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition held in London on 17 February 2013. Comprising of second year undergraduate students - Rajkiran Barhey (Hertford), Jiahui Huang (Magdalen), Danny Tang (Harris Manchester) and Daryl Ho (Balliol) – the team defeated the University of Cambridge to bag the coveted Rebecca M M Wallace Trophy. Jiahui Huang received the award for Best Speaker in Finals. The team is being coached by Shreya Atrey (DPhil Candidate, Magdalen College). They will now represent the UK at the International Rounds to be held between 31 March – 6 April 2013 in Washington, D.C.

Oxford Jessup Team with the Rebecca MM Wallace Trophy
Oxford Jessup Team with the Rebecca MM Wallace Trophy.
From Left to Right: Sir David Edward (President of Panel for Jessup UK Final), Jiahui Huang (Magdalen College, Best Speaker in Final), Rajkiran Barhey (Hertford College), Daryl Ho (Balliol College), Danny Tang (Harris Manchester College), Shreya Atrey (Coach, Magdalen College)

best speaker
Jiahui Huang (Magdalen College) with Rebecca MM Wallace, receiving the prize for Best Speaker in Final

Oxford continues its successful record at the Jessup Moot Court Competition. Last year, the Oxford team was placed 6th in the international rounds after finishing as Runners-up in the UK National Rounds. In both 2008 and 2009, the Oxford teams were declared the UK Champions. In 2007, the Oxford team finished as octafinalists of the international rounds.