The second conference of the Cape Town Convention Academic Project took place in the Cube at the Oxford Law Faculty on 10 and 11 September 2013. There were 60 delegates from many different jurisdictions who came from legal practice, the aircraft and finance industries, governments and public bodies and academia. Following on from a highly successful conference in 2012, the quality of the papers and the discussion this year was uniformly high and raised many interesting and significant issues. Topics ranged from discussion of particular provisions of the Convention and the Protocols (such as the treatment of non-consensual interests, intangible rights, jurisdiction and choice of law, and the public service exception) to the wider significance of the Convention in the context of transnational commercial law and public international law.   There were also sessions on the relationship between the Convention and comparative law, and on the new ‘closed room’ registration process. The papers are to be published shortly in the second edition of the Cape Town Convention Journal, which will be available at   
The conference is part of the ongoing Cape Town Academic Project, whose purpose is to facilitate the academic study and assessment of the Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment together with its Protocols, for the benefit of scholars, practising lawyers, courts and governments, and which is involved in creating a database of all the primary and secondary material relating to the Cape Town Convention and its Protocols, as well as pursuing research in all aspects of the Convention and broader legal and economic themes arising from its implementation.
For more information, see[linkme].                       
The conference was kindly sponsored by Abagados Sierra y Vazquez, Blake, Cassels & Graydon, Clifford Chance, Holland & Knight and Kaye Scholer.

(l-r): Professor Peter Winship, Professor Roy Goode


(l-r): Mr Bryan Welch, Mr John Pritchard, Professor Jeffrey Wool


(l-r): Professor Sandeep Gopalan, Professor Roy Goode, Professor Jeffrey Wool

(l-r): Professor Jeffrey Wool, Professor Henry Gabriel and Mr Howard Rosen