The University of Oxford (Institute of European and Comparative Law), in collaboration with the University of East Anglia (ESRC Centre for Competition Policy), and with the generous support of the University of Oxford’s John Fell OUP Research Fund, presents a two-day conference on the unitary (EU) patent system to mark the 40th and 50th anniversaries of the signing of the European and Strasbourg Patent Conventions, and to help set the agenda for the future. The conference will bring together 16 international experts from different fields to offer their perspectives on the system.

The conference will be held at Jesus College, Oxford, on 4 & 5 October 2013.

Sir David Kitchin of the Court of Appeal will open the conference and the closing remarks will be delivered by Alison Brimelow CBE, former Comptroller of Patents and President of the European Patent Office, who is also a UEA alumna.

Other speakers include Professor Tuomas Mylly of Turku University, Professor Rochelle Dreyfuss of New York University, Professor Bruno van Pottelsberghe of the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management, Stefan Luginbühl of the European Patent Office and Professor Willem Hoyng of Hoyng Monegier and Tilburg University.

Registration fees are £80 (conference only), or £40 for full-time students.

Accommodation in modern en suite rooms at the Jesus College Ship Street Centre is optional, as is the conference dinner on Friday 4th October. (Conference dinner, £50; accommodation, £94 for one night or £178 for two nights, including breakfast).

Registration is now open.

For more information please contact Justine Pila.