The annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot was held at the Faculty of Law and Pembroke College from 20 to 22 March 2014. The structure of the moot followed the expanded format rolled out in 2013, with mooting spread across three days, and participants invited to a variety of related events including the IP Conversazione and Grand Final Dinner.

The 2014 problem centred on an exhibition at the fictitious Erewhonian Museum, and in particular the digitisation of two items – an ancient mosaic and a contemporary illustration – appearing in the exhibition. The digitised images were made available for educational use in a password-protected portal, however they were reproduced by a subscriber in a political blog. This unauthorised reuse raised issues in relation to both copyright and moral rights.

Teams were invited to compete at the oral proceedings in Oxford on the basis of written submissions submitted in December 2013. Marking of the submissions was conducted by a team of practitioners overseen by Catriona Smith of Rouse. The highest aggregate score for the submissions (and the winner of the Best Written Submissions award) was the University of Ottawa. A record number of teams entered submissions in the 2014 competition.

Following short-listing, twenty-four teams from Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Singapore, the United States and the United Kingdom competed in Oxford. After the four preliminary rounds, the eight highest-ranked teams progressed to the quarter-finals, with Boston University placing first after the preliminary rounds. This year, two mooters shared the Sir Nicholas Pumfrey Best Individual Mooter award for their performance in the rounds: Byron Chiu  of the University of Hong Kong and Patrick Kenny of Boston University.

Following a busy day of finals mooting on the Saturday, the grand finalists, University of Hong Kong and University of Toronto, competed at Pembroke College in front of a panel comprised of Lord Justice Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd and Mr Justice Birss. Both teams performed extremely well, with the University of Hong Kong prevailing. The Grand Final Dinner and prize giving ceremony was held later that day, also at Pembroke College. Following a vote of the teams, the Professor David Vaver Spirit of the Moot Award was won by the Brunel University. Professor Vaver and his wife Maxine were in attendance to present the award.

The Organising Committee would like to thank all those involved in making the moot a success, including the judges of the written and oral aspects of the competition, the moots sponsors (8 New Square, Freshfields, OUP, Powell Gilbert and Rouse), His Honour Michael Fysh QC SC, Associate Professor Liz Fisher, Huw Edmunds and his team from Pembroke College, and the Faculty of Law, most notably Jenny Hassan and Ellen Moilanen.

Dr Emily Hudson,
St Peter’s College, Oxford

Conversazione dinner

Conversazione Dinner (Pembroke College)

(photo courtesy of Edmund Blok)



Grand Finalists with the Grand Final Panel and representatives of the OIPRC (from left to right: the University of Hong Kong, Emily Hudson, Mr Justice Birss, Poorna Mysoor, Lord Justice Kitchin, the University of Toronto, Lord Justice Floyd and Graeme Dinwoodie)
(photo courtesy of Edmund Blok)

Grand Final Drinks (from left to right: Caroline Hayward, Maxine Vaver and Alison Slade talking with Lord Justice Floyd)
(photo courtesy of Edmund Blok)




Grand Final: the University of Toronto make submissions in front of (left to right) Lord Justice Floyd, Lord Justice Kitchin and Mr Justice Birss
(photo courtesy of Edmund Blok)