The fourth annual Oxford Legal Assistance Public Law Moot took place on 9 May 2015 at the Oxford Law Faculty. The competition was open to undergraduates and postgraduates.

The competition is organised by the Law Faculty’s Mooting Programme in conjunction with Oxford Legal Assistance (‘OLA’), the only pro bono organisation that is open to undergraduate law students within the Oxford University Faculty of Law. In order to tie the moot in with the OLA immigration law clinic, the moot focuses on issues within immigration law, set in their wider public law context.

The Grand Final of the 2015 competition was judged by the Hon Sir Bernard McCloskey, who is the President of the Upper Tribunal Immigration and Asylum Chamber.

The competition was followed by a drinks reception, at which mooters were able to meet the competition’s judged.

The Mooting Programme and OLA are most grateful to Rowena Moffatt (Worcester College) who supported the Public Law Moot, both as a judge and in an organisation capacity, as she has done for several years running. Weiran Zhang (Wadham College) and Shaun Tan (St Edmund Hall) defeated Tom Lowenthal (Balliol College) and Owen Lloyd (Magdalen College) in the Grand Final.

L-R: Tom Lowenthal (Balliol College), Owen Lloyd (Magdalen College), the Hon Sir Bernard McCloskey, Weiran Zhang (Wadham College) and Shaun Tan (St Edmund Hall).

James Goudkamp

Matthew Moriarty