Richard Ekins among Orwell Prize judges for 2021

Richard Ekins, Professor of Law and Constitutional Government, has been chosen to join the judging panel of the renowned Orwell Prizes.

The Orwell Prizes are the UK’s most prestigious prizes for political writing. Every year, The Orwell Foundation awards prizes for the work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’.

Since the first annual Orwell Prizes were awarded in 1994, many distinguished figures from literature and journalism have served on its judging panel, including Marina Warner, Bonnie Greer and David Hare.

The judges are appointed each year by the Board of Trustees and the Director of The Orwell Foundation.