Academic Visitors

Prof. Dr. Cyrill Rigamonti

Professor Dr. Cyrill Rigamonti

Professor Cyrill Rigamonti is a tenured professor at the University of Bern, where he teaches intellectual property and competition law, and also serves as Chair of the Department for Economic Law and as Faculty Director of the Center for the Law of Innovation and Competition (CLIC). He is also the President of the Swiss Copyright Tribunal.

Professor Rigamonti is a graduate of Harvard Law School (S.J.D.), Georgetown University Law Center (LL.M.), and the University of Zurich (J.D./Ph.D.) and is admitted to practice in New York and Switzerland. He also earned a habilitation from the University of Bern. He was the first legal scholar to be awarded the Prix Jubilé from the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences. His writing has also earned him the Mancini and Addison Brown prizes from Harvard Law School.


Professor Uma Suthersanen 

Prof. Uma Suthersanen

Professor Suthersanen holds a Chair in Global Intellectual Property Law. Uma gained her degrees in law from the National University of Singapore (LL.B) and Queen Mary University of London (LL.M and PhD). Having begun her academic career at Queen Mary (Herchel Smith Research Fellow & Financial Times Law & Tax Fellowship), she was the Director of Queen Mary Intellectual Property Research Institute (2021-2024), following her Deputy Directorship. (2019-2021). She was a member for the Law Unit of Assessment (sub-panel 18) for the national Research Excellence Framework, REF 2021. Professor Suthersanen has served as a consultant and given evidence to international and regional bodies including WIPO, UNESCO, UNCTAD, European Parliament, European Commission, and the Governments of Israel and Singapore. 

Her current research is focussing on synoptic and interdisciplinary aspects of intellectual property law and policy as a whole, with a focus on traditional knowledge.


On this page