The 15th annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot competition was held at the Law Faculty and Pembroke College from 16-18 March 2017.  A total of 24 teams from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, the United States and the United Kingdom competed in the oral rounds in Oxford.  These teams were short-listed following a highly competitive written submissions round.  

The 2017 problem concerns the case Whispering Gums Winery v Loddon River Vineyards [2016] HCE 12.  This case revolves around: (1) a patent in relation to a bottle that enhances the effervescence of sparking wines; and (2) whether the defendant’s use of the word “Erewine” on an elderflower, non-alcoholic, drink constitutes extended passing off.   Marking of the submissions was conducted by a team of practitioners and research students overseen by Catriona Smith. 

After two and a half days of intense competition, Bucerius Law School and the University of Toronto progressed to the Grand Final.  Both teams mooted in front of a panel of judges comprised of Lord Justice Floyd, Mr Justice Birss and Her Honour Judge Melissa Clarke.  Bucerius Law School was eventually named the Allen & Overy winner.  Other prizes to note:  The 8 New Square Best Submission was won by National University of Singapore, The Highest Ranked Team after the Preliminary Rounds was won by Osgoode Hall Law School and the Best Individual Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds went to Imogen Kenny from Queensland University of Technology. A full list of winners are available on this website.  

The finalists with the Grand Final judges and Organising Committee: Shane Thomas (Toronto), Graeme Dinwoodie, Emily Hudson, Sam Keen (Toronto), Victoria Hale (Toronto), Monty Silley (Bucerius), Stefan Case (Toronto), Fabian Flüchter (Bucerius), Lord Justice Floyd, Karsten Windler (Bucerius), Mr Justice Birss, Her Honour Judge Clarke, Jakob Rehder (Bucerius), Katharina Watzke (Bucerius), Felix Tann (Bucerius), Alvaro Fernandez de la Mora Hernandez.

The Organising Committee are very grateful to the following for making the 2017 moot happen: Allen & Overy, 8 New Square, Herbert Smith Freehills, Powell Gilbert, Cambridge University Press, Edward Elgar Publishing, Hart Publishing and Oxford University Press.  We would also like to thank all our moot judges who volunteered their time to come to Oxford to judge the competition. 

Other photos of the event can be found on our Flickr website

If your university is interested in taking part in next year’s competition, please email the Moot Secretary.  We expect next year’s problem to be published on the moot website in September 2017.