Finalists for the 17th Oxford International IP Moot Court Announced

A total of 60 submissions were received from seventeen countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Russia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the USA.  Twenty-eight teams will be competing for the Allen & Overy Prize which includes remote mentoring from a member of Allen & Overy’s global IP practice. 

The problem for the 2019 Moot focuses on trade mark law, and introduces a new fictitious country: Shangri-La. The hypothetical revolves around the registration, in Erewhon, of a mark that contains Shangri-Lese characters alongside an English word. There is an allegation of trade mark infringement in relation to that mark. Teams will be arguing in front of the Supreme Court of Erewhon, the apex court of a fictional jurisdiction. All teams will be required to participate in four preliminary rounds over two days where they will make submissions as both the Appellant and Respondents.  Eight teams will progress to the knock-out rounds.  The panel for the Grand Final is traditionally composed of three eminent judges, known for their work in the field of Intellectual Property Law.  Lord Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd and Mr. Justice Birss, have accepted our invitations to judge the Grand Final this year.

We would like to thank Catriona Smith (Wiggin LLP) for leading the marking team and her team of markers for marking the submissions:

Jonathan Ball (Norton Rose Fulbright)
Katharina Behrend (University of Oxford)
Joanna Conway (Norton Rose Fulbright)
Jim Cormack (Pinsent Masons)
Tom Edwards (Allen & Overy)
Tobias Endrich (Max Planck Institute of Innovation and Competition)
Oliver Englisch (University of Hamburg)
Alvaro Fernandez de la Mora (University of Oxford)
Franziska Kurz (University of Oxford)
Andrew Lee (Brandsmiths)
Alexandra Mogyoros (University of Oxford)
Hilary Pearson
Ammina Rao (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer)
Ian Starr (D Young & Co)
Genevieve Vanderstichele (University of Oxford)

We would also like to thank all teams who made a submission this year.   

We would like to congratulate the following teams who will be competing in the oral phase of the moot at Oxford:

BPP University
City, University of London
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
Goethe University of Frankfurt
Hidayatullah National Law University
London School of Economics
National Law School of India University, Bangalore
National Law University, Lucknow
National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Cochin
National University of Singapore                                    
Queensland University of Technology 
Singapore Management University
Sri Lanka Law College
Swinburne Law School
The University of Hong Kong
Tsinghua University
University Maurer School of Law           
University of Bern           
University of British Columbia
University of Cambridge
University of Colombo
University of New South Wales
University of Ottawa
University of Oxford
University of Sheffield          
University of Technology Sydney
University of Toronto
West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences

For more information on the competition, please refer to this website.