Athena Swan Bronze Award Renewed

The Faculty is delighted to announce that our Athena Swan Bronze Certificate has been renewed by Advance HE.

The Faculty of Law was one of the first law faculties in the UK to be awarded an Athena Swan Bronze Certificate back in 2017, following an early decision from the Equality and Diversity Committee to join the programme in 2015. Since then, we have been working tirelessly towards addressing the issues identified in our initial application and revising our data so we can make sure progress is being achieved.

This award is a recognition of the progress thus far and a reminder that there is still work to be done. We hope our new action plan reflects our ambitions for the future and we hope you will join us on this journey to ensure the Faculty is a more equal place for all!

Kristin van Zwieten, Associate Dean for Equality and Diversity, said:

Preparing our Athena Swan application required us to engage carefully with a range of sources of data relating to staff and student experience. We took this task seriously, and as a result learnt a great deal. We used this - together with evidence of best practice in the sector, and guided by the Transformed Core Principles - to formulate a new action plan that we hope will deliver valuable change in those areas where it is needed. The focus in the Transformed Charter on intersectionality was very much aligned with the focus of the leadership team in the Faculty, and I am pleased that there are many areas of complementarity between our Athena Swan action plan and our Race Equality Action Plan. I now look forward to implementing what we have agreed to do as a Faculty.

The Faculty would like to thank all of those involved in the Self-Assessment Team who were key in getting this application over the line:

Adam Perry, Andrew Higgins, Arunima Shrikhande, Catherine Redgwell, Charlotte Vinnicombe, Christopher Hare, Ciara Kennefick, Clara Elod, Daisy Ogembo, Dorota Leczykiewicz, Helen Scott, Horst Eidenm├╝ller, John Armour, Katarina Foss-Solbrekk, Kristin van Zwieten, Lisa Forsberg, Luca Enriques, Lucinda Ferguson, Margaret Watson, Miles Jackson, Mindy Chen-Wishart, Miranda Mourby, Naomi Lott, Omar Khan, Robert Burrell, Sanja Bogojevic, Victoria McCloud and Zoe Campbell.

We couldn't have done this without you!

Read the Athena Swan Bronze Renewal ApplicationRead the feedback received from Advance HE