The 14th Annual Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot competition was held at Pembroke College from 17-20 March 2016.  A total of 24 teams from Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Germany, India, Malaysia, Singapore, the United States and the United Kingdom competed in the oral rounds in Oxford.  These teams were invited to compete in the oral rounds after being short-listed following the written submissions. 

The 2016 problem was set in an imaginary country of Erewhon and it revolved around so-called "ambush marketing" of the Erewhon Community Games, and in particular the misuse of Clarrie and Bettina, the event mascots. Marking of the submissions was conducted by a team of practitioners overseen by Catriona Smith of Rouse.  In their second grand final appearance in a row, National Law School of India University, Bangalore competed against University of Ottawa in front of a panel comprised of Lord Justice Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd and Mr Justice Birss.  This year, University of Ottawa prevailed.  University of Ottawa also won the ‘Highest Ranked Team at the end of the Preliminary Rounds’ as well as the top two ‘Best Individual Mooter’, for Fred Wu and Tracey Doyle. 

The finalists with the Grand Final judges.

We are very grateful to the Sponsors of the 2016 moot: 8 New Square Chambers, Allen &  Overy, Herbert Smith Freehills, Powell Gilbert, Thomson Reuters, Cambridge University Press, Edward Elgar Publishing and Hart Publishing.

The winners with their prizes.

Photos of this year’s Moot and Conversazione are available on this website

Read a report of this year's Conversazione here.  



Winner:           University of Ottawa

Runner up:      National Law School of Indian University, Bangalore



George Washington University Law School

University College London


Quarter finalists:

National University of Singapore

Osgoode Hall Law School

Queensland University of Technology

University of Windsor, Ontario


Highest Ranked Team at the end of the Preliminary Rounds:

University of Ottawa


The Sir Nicholas Pumfrey Award Best Individual Mooter:

Fred Wu (University of Ottawa)


Professor David Vaver Spirit of the Moot Award:

University of Malaya


Best Written Submission:

National University of Singapore


For a more detailed list of results, please refer to this website.